Rosette finished

Here’s the rest of the in-process pics.  Like I mentioned before, I don’t want to spend a lot of time posting.  So I think what I might do is each guitar I make, I’ll post about one aspect of building.  This time, it’s rosettes.  Next time, I think I’ll feature bracing.

So, without further ado:

First, the main ring is sanded flat:

 

Now there are two rings (called purflings) that go around the inside and outside of the main one.  These are white and black laminated veneers:

 

As you can see, it’s straight.  So, I have to bend it.  I used my bending iron, which is heated with a propane torch:

 

 

I didn’t get pictures of routing out the channels, or bending, but here’s the purflings in their channels:

 

 

Now the purflings are flooded with Crazy glue:

 

 

After the glue is hard, the extra is carefully trimmed off with a chisel:

 

 

Then it’s all sanded flat:

 

 

Now it’s ready for bracing!  The figure of this will really pop when finish is applied.

Although I won’t be posting any more pictures of building this guitar, I will post finished pics when it’s done.  Probably in 6 or 8 weeks.  🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

