A holiday treat, bladesmith style.

Hey all,

Hope your holidays are going well, and you don’t get sick….

Around here, we don’t really celebrate Christmas.  For several reasons, which I won’t go into unless someone wants me to. 😉

But, I do use it as an excuse to eat junk food.  😀  The following recipe is one of the gooiest, sugariest treats I know of.

First, you’ll need a baking dish.  To do this right, you’ll need a silicon carbide smelting crucible.  I didn’t have one, so I used a Corningware cassarole dish.  About 8″ by 8″ will work. Spray with something non-stick.  WD- 40 will work, but again, I used cooking spray because it was convenient…

 

Now measure in 6 ounces each of chocolate bits (dark, semi-sweet, and milk all work) and caramel bits.  The original recipe called for butterscotch bits, but I try to avoid hydrogenated oils, hence the caramel bits.  White chocolate bits is good too.

 

 

Now add a can of Eagle brand sweetened condensed milk.  I was going to use some heavy machinery to open it, just to demonstrate proper bladesmith technique, but it came with a pull tab thing on top…

 

 

 

Now add a package of graham crackers made into crumbs.  The way I make the crumbs is to gently cold work with a 3 pound hammer.  Poke a hole in the package first to keep it from bursting…  A hydraulic press should do a fine job also.

 

 

 

Now stir it all up:

 

 

And put it into your heat treat oven, which has been preheated to 353 degrees F.  My oven will go up to 2400 degrees, but this kitchen duty cooking pan will not handle that heat.

 

 

 

Close the door:

 

 

Soak at temperature for 30 minutes.  Cooking much longer than this will result in excess carbon formation.  Not a good thing.

 

 

Then remove from oven and air quench until hand warm.  If higher hardness is desired, you can follow up the air quench with a refrigeration treatment.

 

 

Now eat it!  Your dentist will thank me.

 

Phillip

5 thoughts on “A holiday treat, bladesmith style.

  1. I’m fat enough thank you. Looks good though! You mentioned WD-40 Would you really use it? I read somewhere it’s just fish oil.

    CRL

  2. Yum! That looks good…but I’ll probably have to wait a while before I make it. We’ve had so much food in the past two weeks, we’re all just about ready to fast for another two! Ok, so maybe not quite, but we’ve certainly had enough junk to last us quite a while!

    I really got a kick out of your approach! 🙂 Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

