Violin top carving, part 2

I’m waiting for some stuff to arrive before I can install the purfling, but in the meantime I’ve made more progress on the carving.

I have a set of curve templates that I got off the internet and printed out.  Here’s the lengthwise template:

 

But before putting in the final curves, I have to remove the ledge that was formed when I made the purfling platform.

 

 

And here are the crosswise curve templates:

 

Here I’ve used them to take certain areas down to the shape they’re supposed to be:

 

Then the areas in between are blended together:

 

 

 

 

Next I need to install the purfling, then I’ll use scrapers to smooth it out and refine all the curves.

 

Phillip

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

