$150 challenge uke, part 2

I’m making a laminated neck for this instrument. The catalpa I got is mostly flatsawn, so I’m gluing two pieces together, flipping them, to get a more or less quartersawn piece. Two pieces of catalpa wasn’t quite wide enough, so I stuck a piece of black walnut in the middle:

Image

Image

Enough clamps, do you think?

Image

I also processed the fingerboard. It’s osage orange. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to leave it this color or not.
This piece was straight grained enough that I was able to thickness it with my planer.

Image

And here is the cedar top, joined and sawn to shape:

Image

Image

 

Gluing the headstock on:

Image

Cutting it to final thickness:

Image

Tapering the neck. It’s 3/4″ at the thick end, and 5/8″ at the nut end.

Image

Image

Gluing the stacked heel:

Image

Leave a Reply

