Les Paul Number 2

This one isn’t actually quite finished.  I have to get some knobs for the pots, make the control cavity covers, fix a chip on the headstock, and some other finishing touches.  But it’s playable.

On the first LP, I used pickups that had Alnico 5 magnets in them.  This one has Alnico 2.  I’m new to electrics, so I wasn’t sure what the difference would be.  Now that I’ve played them both, I can say that the difference is obvious, but not dramatic.  I’d describe the difference as the Alnico 2 pickups as sounding “cleaner”.  I like them both though.

All the wood for this guitar (except for the ebony fretboard and headstock veneer) came from Menards.  The top is curly maple, the body and neck are mahogany.  The binding is cream ABS.

 

I’ll post more pics when it’s completely done.

I like this one a lot, even though it is a full pound heavier than my first one.  This one’s 9 pounds.

Later,

2 thoughts on “Les Paul Number 2

  1. Hi Phillip

    I had a Les Paul when I was a kid and it weighed 10 lbs on the nose. I’m glad to see you put your name on this one. Have you ever played a Gibson Les Paul? If so How does this one compare?

    Chris

    • Hi Chris,
      Nope, these are the only LP’s I’ve played. Maybe when you come over next, you can tell me how they compare. 😉

      Phillip

Leave a Reply

