Sword finished

I started this project three and a half years ago.  It’s a Petersen Type L Migration era sword.  The blade is 30-3/4″ long, and is pattern welded.

The fittings are also damascus, and the grip is wood covered with leather.

Rather than describe the making of it here, I’ll just direct you to this thread:

http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php/620581-Pattern-Welded-Sword-WIP

wherein I document the whole process in some detail.

 

 
and here’s a high resolution pic of the whole thing:

 

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with it.  It’s got some flaws which prevent me from selling it.  (or maybe that’s just an excuse to keep it 😀 )

One thought on “Sword finished

  1. The chickens in the background offer up a sense of foreboding. I’m just saying…..Hi Phil just messing with you. What a beautiful piece! You never stop impressing me.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

