New uke

Howdy y’all,

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything, but it’s not for lack of events, but rather a plethora.  I’ll be writing a big long post soon about all that, but for now I’m just going to share some photos of the most recent instrument I’ve finished, about a month ago.

It’s an 8 string electric ukulele.  I’m sure if I’ll ever sell it, since it’s so unusual, it would probably  appeal to very few people…

The body and neck are mahogany, the top is curly maple.  The body and neck are sprayed with black lacquer, and the top is a dark green.  I saw a PRS guitar at Sweetwater several months ago that had a green top, and I was kind of taken with it, and had to try one.  I like it, but I need to experiment more with the tints…

It has a single humbucking pickup, made by yours truly.  It’s wired for series/parallel.
Some pics:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I finally got around to ordering the stuff I need to continue work on the violin I started last year, so I’ll be picking up that project again soon.

Other than that, not much to report, except for the aforementioned big long post that’s coming soon to a blog near you…

Leave a Reply

