New Uke

Started this one a couple months ago, and just got it done.  I made it without the benefit of bending forms and heating blankets, not to mention my go-bar deck, so it was a little stretching for me.  It was my first time using Super Soft, and it made bending the curly maple go so much smoother.

It’s a tenor, so tuned GCEA.

The top, back and sides are all curly maple.  The neck is mahogany, the bridge and fretboard are desert ironwood.

The top has a plate under the bridge, but no fan braces.  Makes me a little nervous, but it’s holding together so far…

For the bridge I tried something different.  Instead of using one hole per string, and then tying them on, I drilled three holes per string, and the string is passed through each hole, locking it in place.  The skinnier strings had to have a ball melted on the end, because they wanted to pull through…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Uke

  1. My friend, your level of craftsmanship for someone I suppose is fairly young, is absolutely mind blowing. Your instruments (I’m a fairly average guitar player) are incredible.. I would love to own one someday. My question is about your knifemaking technique. Especially your hollow grinding. Do you use a jig or do you do them freehand? They all look so perfect I have to believe you use some kind of a jig. Of course your damascas is also out of this world. Thanks again for sharing your experiences, and I will continue to follow them. David Inlow

  2. Thanks for your kind comments!
    I don’t actually use jigs when I grind. I find that they remove any sense of feeling, and I think it’s important to feel what’s going on, since I can’t really see. Hollow grinding freehand is easy though, once you get a groove started, because the groove acts as a “track” for the wheel to run in.

    Thanks for reading,
    Phillip

Leave a Reply

