What do you want from me?!

How’s that for an eye catching post title?

It’s been a long time since I posted anything here.  I’m not really sure what to post about.   I could post about everything that happens in my life like so many on social media do, but I have better things to do with my time, and most readers would be bored to tears anyway.  Also I prefer to keep my private life off of the Internet, so that pretty much limits my posts to stuff that I make.   So, I’m wondering, what would you, my readers, like to see on here?  More tutorials?  More pictures?  More knife content?  More about my other hobbies?  Political or theological commentaries?  All of the above?  None of the above?  I am open to your suggestions.  🙂

12 thoughts on “What do you want from me?!

    • Hey Chris, good to hear from you!

      It’s been a long time since I did much instrument work (only made one guitar last year, and none this year) but I would love to get back into that.

      Maybe I should make another all cedar guitar, eh?

  1. Well, Chris, you’re the only one who’s spoken up, so I guess we’re going to have more guitar content. I ordered plans for a Torres classical guitar yesterday.

  2. I would LOVE to see some more Bladesmithing/ Knifemaking WIPs and tutorials!! 😀 Fellow bladeforumite here btw, and I’ve just recently gone through your Custome Fighter WIP you posted around early 2013, still one of the very best ones on there, imho. 🙂 There so much to be learned from a maker with your caliber!

    ~Paul

  3. Hey Phillip I have been trying to figure out how to make a hammered dulcimer and was ecstatic when I got done with your four part post. The pictures were very helpful and I am going to start mine soon. Some questions – what are the overall front, back, and side measurements and what are the angles? How did the steel rods hold up versus more braces under the bridges? What was the depth you installed the tuning pins? Also what did you use as a guide to locate the bridges and if you measured what were the measurements. Also if you were going to add another course or two would you do it at the base or top. Thanks for the great postings. Fireeagle6@yahoo.com

  4. Hey Phillip,

    My name is Tim, and I am from Sydney, Australia. Your tutorial on making the hammer dulcimer is very helpful. I started playing two years ago, but there is very little information or interest in Australia with regard to the hammer dulcimer. Therefore, my style is self-taught and amalgamated from a whole range of HD players on YouTube. I play as part of a small indie rock band.

    The HD that I currently play is from a kit by musicmakers.com, and was constructed by a friend who loves instrument construction. As I have developed my technique and style of playing, I realise just how much I would like to make my own HD. I am especially interested in creating an semi-acoustic HD. I think this might be possible by incorporating an electronic effects panel such as may be found in an electric guitar, and creating a HD with less reverb and a mellow tone.

    What are your thoughts on this idea? Is it possible, or should I just focus on creating a traditional instrument?

    Thanks again…

    • Hey Tim I am in the middle of making my own dulcimer too and checked all angles on this one. I think if you integrated all that into an HD it is one thing more that you may have to breakdown for to repair. However if you were to use high quality pickups internally with a standard 1/4 connection through the rear wall it is a simple matter to plug into an amp of any variety of effects boards and you can change those quite easily. It will make your HD very adaptable. Good Luck

    • Hi Tim,
      I think Carmine pretty much said it. I wouldn’t get too fancy. I haven’t really done much experimenting with mic-ing HD’s. I found that it was hard to hear the amp over the instrument, and I don’t have a good pickup or mic anyway.

      The instrument I made in this build-along had several piezo pickups, which are very cheap, so I figured I didn’t have much to lose. I’ll try to find out from the owner if he’s done much with it.

      Thanks for your participation in this here blog, and good luck with your HD adventures! They’re really fun to build.

      Phillip

  5. Hi Phillip, anything you want to post….but especially looking forward to your photo essay of the knives that you made in 2016. Loved 2015 knives.
    Your 2015 steel, esp the 25,000 layer, and the paring knife that you made for your mom were outstanding.

    Best,
    Ralph

    • Hi Ralph,
      Good to hear from you! And thanks for your input! I’ll try to get last years knives posted soon.

      Phillip

Leave a Reply

